Because I Knew You

I remember this one day in high school. The night before was typical at home…hell. It was one of those days where I filled my pillow with water from my eyes, but came to school with the biggest fake smile on my face. I needed somewhere to go. I went where I felt comfortable…the journalism “suite.” My sanctuary, my home away from home, my place to be creative, to be myself, to have fun…to feel loved and trusted, and to spend time with my hero. She is my hero, but I don’t think she knows it. She is the reason why I do what I do.

For some, our heros are our parents or siblings or crime fighters or celebrities. Spider-Man is pretty cool, and Ellen Degeneres is pretty high on my list too. But for me, my hero is the person who created a sanctuary for me to escape. My hero is a teacher; a woman who created a classroom where students came to show their creativity and genius, and to have fun doing so. And with all the years being queen of her castle, she has not lost that passion for teaching – that internal gratification that only teachers know.

When you see a great teacher, you are seeing a work of art, a master at their craft. When you see a great teacher, you are seeing the people that mold presidents, doctors, lawyers, astronauts, engineers, mothers, and fathers. When you see a great teacher, you are seeing people who create environments and classrooms that change people’s lives. When you see a great teacher, you have meet a hero.

Some are never held to the pedestal of their glory. But we all have had them…amazing teachers who are changing lives every day. Everyone has that one that they can look back and say, “That teacher was my favorite. That teacher taught me something. That teacher showed me the light, to look at life in a different way. That teacher is the reason why I am successful.” Those teachers create fan bases; people that will grow up and remember that person who changed their life, realizing that some of this world’s greatest people, the one’s that deserve the notoriety of celebrity, are educators. One day, I will be that person. Until then, I have a great example of what to aspire to. Remember that teacher…

“The best way to find yourself is to lose yourself in the service of others.” – Ghandi

Have A Great and Safe Summer!
Always remember to be the change you wish to see in the world…

Happy Endings,
– PeeJay

 

Leave a Comment

